Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

Skip Navigation LinksByElection Ward 3 By-Election

Ward Three By-Election

A by-election is an election to fill a vacancy arising during a term of office.

Certified Results

The Ward 3 By-Election Results were certified on February 25, 2020. Voter turnout was 23.8%. 

CandidateVotesVotes (%)
Stephen James Ciesielski 
Ram Faerber 1055.7
Ann-Marie Kungl54229.4
​Gerry Marshall 176​9.6
​Kelly Patterson McGrath ​234​12.7
​Tanya Saari427​23.2
​Devin Scully308​16.7
​Peter Silveira31​1.7

On October 21, 2019, Ward Three Councillor, Doug Shipley, was elected as the Member of Parliament for Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte. As a result, Councillor Shipley was required to resign his seat on Barrie City Council and on October 28, 2019, Council declared the Ward Three seat vacant. On November 25, 2019, Council voted to call a by-election to fill the vacant Ward Three seat in accordance with Section 262 (1) of the Municipal Act, 2001.

Key Dates

Nomination PeriodNovember 26, 2019 – January 10, 2020 at 2pm
Nomination DayJanuary 10, 2020 at 2pm
Voting Period 10am ​February 13 – 8pm February 24
By-Election DayFebruary 24, 2020

Looks like your screen is a bit too small

The page you are attempting to view is not currently compatible with the dimensions of your device. Please visit this page on a larger screen.