Previous Election Results

Thank you to all who take part in Barrie’s municipal elections.

Ward Three By-Election Certified Results (2020)

A by-election is an election to fill a vacancy arising during a term of office. The Ward 3 By-Election Results (PDF) were certified on February 25, 2020. Voter turnout was 23.8%. 

On October 21, 2019, Ward Three Councillor, Doug Shipley, was elected as the Member of Parliament for Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte. As a result, Councillor Shipley was required to resign his seat on Barrie City Council and on October 28, 2019, Council declared the Ward Three seat vacant. On November 25, 2019, Council voted to call a by-election to fill the vacant Ward Three seat in accordance with Section 262 (1) of the Municipal Act, 2001.

CandidateVotesVotes (%)
Stephen James Ciesielski 191.0
Ram Faerber1055.7
Ann-Marie Kungl54229.4
​Gerry Marshall 176​9.6
​Kelly Patterson McGrath ​23412.7
​Tanya Saari427​23.2
​Devin Scully30816.7
​Peter Silveira31​1.7

Official 2018 Municipal Election Results

2018 voter turnout in was 27,652 electors (30%). There were 11 declined ballots. Barrie's 2018 Municipal Election results (PDF) were certified on October 26, 2018. The results for the French School Boards (PDF) were certified on November 1, 2018. Financial statements will be posted as they are provided.​

Eligible Voters: 92,156  Voter Turnout: 29.65%
VotesVotes (%)
Ram Faerber2,4679.03%
Jeff Lehman24,85490.97%
Councillor, Ward 1
Eligible Voters: 9,794  Voter Turnout: 33.48%
VotesVotes (%)
Shaughna Ainsworth85225.98%
Graham Allary1765.37%
Ryan Cardwell51415.68%
Erin Hennigar611.86%
Dusko Jankov1865.67%
Avery Konda1133.45%
Ann-Marie Kungl37011.28%
Clare Riepma97429.70%
Cole Walsh331.01%
Councillor, Ward 2
Eligible Voters: 11,833  Voter Turnout: 35.5%
VotesVotes (%)
Keenan Aylwin1,76642.04%
Richard Forward1,35932.35%
Yolanda T. Gallo1994.74%
Rose Romita87720.88%
Councillor, Ward 3
Eligible Voters: 7,831  Voter Turnout: 29.45%
VotesVotes (%)
Lynn-Anne Hill27712.01%
Tanya Saari41518.00%
Doug Shipley161469.99%
Councillor, Ward 4
Eligible Voters: 9,190  Voter Turnout: 31.92%
VotesVotes (%)
Daniel Boucher44615.21%
Bryan Harris1,01034.44%
Barry Ward1,47750.36%
Councillor, Ward 5
Eligible Voters: 8,229  Voter Turnout: 29.82%
VotesVotes (%)
Harry Ahmed702.85%
Brandon Cassidy873.55%
Peter Silveira94238.39%
Robert Thomson1,35555.22%
Councillor, Ward 6
Eligible Voters: 9,648  Voter Turnout: 27.53%
VotesVotes (%)
Natalie Harris1,04239.23%
Colin Nelthorpe1535.76%
Micheline Robichaud52419.73%
Steve Trotter93735.28%
Councillor, Ward 7
Eligible Voters: 9,300  Voter Turnout: 24.42%
VotesVotes (%)
Gary Harvey1,06646.94%
John McEachern672.95%
Bonnie North36215.94%
Andrew Prince77634.17%
Councillor, Ward 8
Eligible Voters: 11,149  Voter Turnout: 29.08%
VotesVotes (%)
Jim Harris99830.78%
Brian Miller75523.29%
Shelly Skinner50015.42%
Brad Thompson98930.51%
Councillor, Ward 9Votes
Sergio MoralesACCLAIMED
Councillor, Ward 10
Eligible Voters: 8,750  Voter Turnout: 28.4%
VotesVotes (%)
Peter Culyer863.46%
Mike McCann1,71969.18%
John Olthuis68027.36
Member – Simcoe County District School Board, 
Representing Wards 1, 2, 3
VotesVotes (%)
Gillian MacLean2,21133.93%
David William O'Brien2,22234.10%
Neli Trevisan75511.59%
Amanda Trinacty1,32820.38%
Member – Simcoe County District School Board, Representing Wards 4, 5, 6VotesVotes (%)
Beth Mouratidis2,91454.23%
Mike Washburn2,45945.77%
Member – Simcoe County District School Board, Representing Wards 7, 8, 9, 10VotesVotes (%)
Derek Dath81613.15%
Heidi MacNeil1,44123.22%
Ajmal Noushahi4797.72%
David Quigley1,08917.55%
Lisa-Marie Wilson2,38138.37%
Member – Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board, Representing Wards 1, 2, 3, 4, 5VotesVotes (%)
Nathaniel Brown98544.55%
Robert Matthew LeCollier67330.44%
Paul Rasiulis55325.01%
Member –  Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board, Representing Wards 6, 7, 8, 9, 10VotesVotes (%)
Andrew Hall57728.13%
Maria Hardie1,29963.33%
Corey James Henderson1758.53%
Member – Conseil scolaire Viamonde (formerly Conseil scolaire de district du Centre Sud-Ouest), Sector 5
One to be elected representing the Counties of Bruce, Grey, Simcoe & Dufferin
VotesVotes (%)
Guy Belcourt441
Saveria Caruso292
Eric Lapointe460
Member – Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir
One to be elected representing the area defined as Region of Simcoe-Muskoka
VotesVotes (%)
Ryan Malenfant196
Claire Thibideau1,092

Withdrawn Candidates

Donald Blais

Third Party Advertisers

Campaign Life Coalition
Darren Roskam
Dave Forfar