Presented by Committees & Council

Order of the Spirit Catcher Award

The Order of the Spirit Catcher award was established in 2000, and is the highest honour bestowed by the City to a volunteer (youth and adult) for outstanding service to our community. The City seeks nominations annually for the Order of the Spirit Catcher Award (19+ years of age) and the Youth Spirit Catcher Award (12–18 years of age). Individuals considered for a Spirit Catcher award must be residents of Barrie.

Order of the Spirit Catcher Award Categories

The Outstanding ContributorThis award will be presented to a person aged 19+ who, over many years, has contributed significantly to the advancement of one or more community organizations in Barrie. The person will have taken a leadership role in one or more projects and, through volunteer efforts, has shown an awareness of the community's needs
The Local HeroThis award will be presented to a person aged 19+ who has worked tirelessly "behind the scenes" for one or more community organizations in Barrie. Through dedication, hard work and extensive volunteer hours, this person has made a significant contribution to the community spirit of our City. This award can also be presented to someone whose creativity and passion has developed a unique project for the advancement of the community, or to a person who has performed a singular heroic act.

Youth Spirit Catcher Award

This award will be presented to a young person, aged 12 to 18, who has shown dedication and creativity in assisting one or more community organizations in Barrie, or has supported the needs of a particular sector in the community, for the benefit of the City as a whole. This can be through extensive volunteer hours, by spearheading a project, or by performing a singular heroic act.

YearOrder of the Spirit Catcher Award    Youth Spirit Catcher Award

​Brian Moosang & Jason Helmond

2018William Dwyer​Jake Vaz
2017Erica CurtisZachary Hofer
2016Elizabeth WilloughbyChristina D'Alessandro
2015Jamie MassieJason Gingrich
2014Shane Denis & Tom OldershawGrant Bond & Erika Campbell
2013Shannon MurreeMackenzie Oliver
2012Willard KinzieKeli Perencz & Sheena Tracey
2011Shari AlbertKealey Clarke
2010Derek WaltonKathryn Helmond


Barrie Heritage Awards

The Heritage Barrie Committee annually seeks nominations for property owners and individuals who've made strides in fostering local identity through heritage preservation and awareness in Barrie. All residents are invited to submit nominations during a promoted annual call for nominations. Learn more.

Barrie Business Accessibility Awards

The Accessibility Advisory Committee developed the Business Accessibility Award to acknowledge the many ways in which businesses contribute to the community by making their business or business practices accessible. Learn more.