Barrie’s top innovators honoured at Mayor’s Innovation Awards ceremony

(Barrie, ON) Mayor Jeff Lehman announced today the winners of the 2020 Mayor's Innovation Awards at the first ever virtual ceremony that premiered on the City's social media channels. The Innovation Awards is an annual initiative celebrating and recognizing the year's most innovative solutions from Barrie businesses, individuals and community groups.

“I'm blown away by the innovative solutions, new approaches and sheer ingenuity I've seen from organizations and individuals across all sectors over this past year," said Mayor Jeff Lehman. “Our winners, runners-up and nominees really show us the adaptation and creativity we have in our community, especially in the midst of such challenging circumstances."

The winners and runners-up of the 2020 Mayor's Innovation Awards, by category are: 

Creative Collaboration Xcelerate Summit committee, and Chad Ballantyne and Brandon Day of Canopy Coworking (co-winners)Vision Travel, Wine Journeys and Bacio Trattoria (first runner-up)Ontario Musicians Co-operative Inc. and Second Harvest (second runner-up)Pivot Point

Lucas Beggs and The Electric Motor Coil Company (winner)Horseshoe Valley Environmental (first runner-up)Multi Tech Audio Visual (second runner-up)Community Impact

Nikki Glahn and Barrie Families Unite (winner)Sara Bentham (first runner-up)  Frontline Resilience (second runner-up)Shift Disturber

Michael Lalonde and the RoboTape team from Innovative Automation (winner)Sara Bentham (first runner-up)Shelly Skinner (second runner-up)

The City received more than 70 submissions, and submissions were evaluated by 17 judges from various industries and business backgrounds on criteria like creativity, innovation and the nominee's wider contributions to Barrie's development. The Innovation Awards are sponsored in part by consulting firm Adams Hamilton.

Learn more about the winners, runners-up, nominees and Awards


Media Contact
Scott LaMantia
Senior Communications Advisor
The City of Barrie
(705) 739-4220 ext. 4529