Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

​Land Acknowledgement

The City of Barrie acknowledges the traditional territory of the Anishinaabeg people, which include the Odawa, Ojibwe, and Pottawatomi Nations collectively known as the Three Fires Confederacy. We also acknowledge the Wendat Nation (Huron) who occupied these lands prior to the middle of the 17th century.

We are dedicated to honouring Indigenous history and culture and recognize the enduring presence of Indigenous peoples on this land. We are committed to moving forward in the spirit of reconciliation and respect with all First Nations, Métis, and Inuit People.


  • Anishnabeg: Ah-nish-NAH-beg
  • Odawa: Oh-DAH-wah 
  • Ojibwe: O-jib-we
  • Pottawatomi: boh-tah-WAH-toh-mee
  • Métis: may-tee
  • Wendat: wen-dat

Looks like your screen is a bit too small

The page you are attempting to view is not currently compatible with the dimensions of your device. Please visit this page on a larger screen.